January, 1 New Year's Day ("Ngahe Weru Ngakyen")

Lunar New Year's Day ("Wamsai Lurwarsa")

Good Friday ("Fraide Lui")
April, 14King's Day ("Lirai Ngakyen")
May, 1Labor Day ("Tetem Ngakyen")
May, 7UIEMB Day ("UIEMB Ngakyen")
June, 23Independence Day ("Muktye Ngakyen")

End of Ramadan ("Uwasa Ngakyen Lui") (Idul Fitri)
July, 24Ancestors' Day ("Yambakra Ngakyen")

Day of Hajj ("Haji Ngakyen Lui")

Festival of the Sun and the Moon ("Nawamasa ni Hudanda")
December, 16Victory Day ("Wijaya Ngakyen")
December, 25Christmas ("Nčtal Ngakyen Lui")



Based on a calendar brought from India by Hindu priests in the 12th century, the lunisolar Dewasakra calendar is no longer used but still serves as a reference for some dates like the Festival of the Sun and the Moon, in the week of the full moon of the nineth month (15th day of Nawamasa), between September and October. The months have 29 or 30 days and a 13th month (Mastaran) is intercalated every 3 years. The year zero is said to correspond to the "arrival of the holy priests", Hae Pandit, in 1172 AD, starting the "Pandit Era" or Abat Pandit (AP). Each month starts in the new moon, 15 days before the full moon. The correspondence of Lunar New Year (Wamsai Lurwarsa) with the Gregorian calendar is the following for the next years: Jan 21, 2023 (851AP); Feb 9, 2024 (852AP); Jan 28, 2025 (853AP); Jan 18, 2026 (854AP).

Lurwarsa1st monthJan-Feb
Masudak2nd monthFeb-Mar
Traimasa3rd monthMar-Apr
Saturmasa4th monthApr-May
Pansamasa5th monthMay-Jun
Sotmasa6th monthJun-Jul - Beginning of Musimtimu (dry season)
Sapetmasa7th monthJul-Aug
Astamasa8th monthAug-Sep
Nawamasa9th monthSep-Oct
Dasmasa10th monthOct-Nov
Ekadasmasa11th monthNov-Dec
Dwadasmasa12th monthDec-Jan - Beginning of Musimwa (rainy season)
Mastaran13th month (intercalated)Jan