The region where today is Purikali has been inhabited for at least 25,000 years. Archaeological studies attest the human presence since the Pleistocene. The village of Purikali was founded by Muslim traders during the fourteenth century, close to the ruins of Wisnupuran, the "temple of Vishnu", in the place where there was a village of an aboriginal people called Hubian. The city grew considerably during the fifteenth century under the rule of the sultan of Rajakaoplan. The name of the city has its origin in Old Javanese and means "Palace of the River".

In 1532, Purikali was destroyed by Portuguese soldiers and replaced by the village of São Gabriel do Hube in 1557. Portuguese colonization began in the archipelago.

In the seventeenth century the Muslim king of Bandajaya, Ahmad Uninperaing, invaded and reconquered the city. 
The great mosque of Kuwat Wijaya ("the Dome of the Victory") was built in the north of the city to celebrate the event and the city was renamed again as Purikali.. The period of Portuguese colonization has ended. The king Ismail Rajasena built a new palace in Purikali which became since then the capital of Kaupelan.

The city lies on a plain between the Bay of Masar in the south and the stone mountain, an extinct volcano, which due to its shape is called Gajawatu, the "Stone Elephant", in the north. It is crossed by the river Hubi that has its source in the lake on the top of the mountain. The Hubian people used the word anga for the bay and belahu for the lake. Nowadays, these words mean respectively "south" and "north" in Kaupelanese.

The city grew fast specially after the independence of Kaupelan with the influx of peasants and migrants of other islands and immigrants from Indonesia. In the seventies, refugees from East Timor came to the city.

With a population of more than one million inhabitants, the city faced a lot of social and demographic problems. At the end of the century, many public actions were done to improve the life in the big city. The subway started to be built in the decade of 1980 and the new international airport Nuno Kotamakuwa was inaugurated in the 1990's. Little by little the problems of the great metropolis were being solved. Currently Purikali is quite a cosmopolitan city with many hotels and restaurants with international standards.

Touristic Attractions: Saint Gabriel cathedral; Fort King Edward; Royal Palace (Kèratun Weru); Parliament (Haimauman); National Theater; Casino, National Museum; Hubian Palace; Central Station; Wisnupuran Tower; Saint Francis Church; Bandanese Forum (folkloric dance show); Islamic Centre; Uninpèraing Mosque; Market Street; Gajawatu Mountain Tram; Saint Luke Church; Aquarium; Fast Train Terminal  (to Bandajaya); War Museum; Zoo; Art Museum; National Stadium; FICT Headquarter. Shopping Malls: Sultandahen; Watera; Kuruwan; Raja Bazaar.


City Map

Downtown Map

click on the map to enlarge


Bus service: 112 lines. Every 20 min, from 4:00 am to 1:00 am, except from 7:00 am to 10:00 am and from 5:00 pm to 8:00 pm (rush time), where it is every 10 min. A few bus lines operate from 1:00 am to 4:00 am, every hour. Ticket price: KAH 1.50 (2017)

Subway service: 4 lines, 92 km. Every 10 min, from 4:00 am to 1:00 am, except from 7:00 am to 10:00 am and from 5:00 pm to 8:00 pm (rush time), where it is every 5 min. Ticket price: KAH 2.50 (2017)



Terminal South (Anga)

S33 - Yala Malwet Umalui

S34 - Ratu Bin Amin

S35 - Puran Bidi

S36 - Ratu Bin Faisal

S37 - Ratu Bin Farid

S41 - Yala Belahu

S42 - Farid - Ibrahim

S43 - Ratu Ismail

S44 - Rot Yasai

S45 - Yala Taumelan

S46 - Kuruwan

S47 - Masid Unimpèraing

S50 - Ratu Bin Hasan

S51 - Yalawasi

S52 - Rata ni Tren

S56 - Tanu Rungu

S58 - Sultan Bumakirta

S59 - Terong Dauk

S61 - Sultan Dahejaya

S62 - Sultan Adi

S63 - Anjaru

S64 - Dodo

S65 - Portugis

S66 - Wisanu

S67 - Sutung Portugal

S68 - Sultan Kisakurak

S70 - Seram

S71 - Yala Lisboa

S72 - Yala Bèlem

S73 - Yala Kota Porto

S74 - Santakasa

S75 - Yala Nuhu Nila

S76 - Yala Nuhu Ewau

S77 - Yala Nuhu Yamdena

S78 - Flores

Terminal West (Barat)

W55 - Peraing ni Musium

W56 - Tanu Rungu

W58 - Sultan Muhamad

W61 - Sultan Dahejaya

W62 - Sultan Adi

W64 - Dodo

W65 - Nilau

W66 - Wisanu

W67 - Sutung Portugal

W68 - Sultan Kisakurak

W71 - Yala Bèlem

W72 - Yala Kota Porto

W73 - Santakasa

W75 - Yala Nuhu Nila

W76 - Yala Nuhu Yamdena

W78 - Flores

W79 - 23 Jun - Flores

W80 - Lirai Kira Yasai

W81 - Kurumali - Singapur

W82 - Guru P. Padilya

W83 - Guru M. Fransa

W84 - Nyugini

W85 - Rataraung

W86 - Yala Henri Ling

W87 - Australya

W91 - Guru Marya Siliwasi

W94 - Kepètaung Lau

W95 - Pier - Kal Armada

W96 - Malaisya

W97 - Beramar - Sutung Hamu

W98 - Indonesya

Terminal North (Belahu)

N12 - Lirai Sunu

N14 - Terong Dolwali Kotamakuwa

N16 - Masar

N18 - Saung Lukas

N21 - Dharatpahlawan

N22 - Rewèren Makloi

N24 - Tjainis Basar

N25 - Sultandahen Rajakaopalan

N26 - Wilyam Hamon

N27 - Alfret Walse

N28 - 7 Mai

N77 - Yala Nuhu Yamdena

N79 - Tanimbar

N80 - Ambon

N81 - Antonyo Dabèreu

N82 - Singapur - Lau

N84 - Nyugini

N85 - Rataraun

N93 - Kuruterau

N94 - Kepètaung Lau

N95 - Pier - Kal Armada

N96 - Malaisya

N97 - Beramar - Sutung Hamu

N98 - Pilipinas

Terminal East (Timur)

E13 - Terong Dolwali Kotamakuwa

E15 - Sultandahe - Masar

E16 - Masar

E17 - Tjandraputra

E18 - Nagarajaya

E22 - Rewèren Makloi

E23 - Riberaung

E24 - Ikresa Saung Fransisko

E25 - Sultandahen Rajakaopalan

E26 - Wilyam Hamon

E27 - Alfret Walse

E31 - Tasi Banda

E32 - Sombo

E33 - Yala  Pari Jeral Lopes

E34 - Bin Amin - Sombo

E35 - Puran Bidi

E40 - Ratu Iskandar Unimpèraing

E41 - Yala Belahu

E43 - Ratu Ismail

E44 - Rot Yasai

E45 - Yala Taumelan

E46 - Kuruwan






Hais Yaing

(Blue Line)

Hais Raun

(Green Line)

Hais Ira

(Red Line)

Hais Dau

(Yellow Line)

Pawi Puran       Anjaru Timor Sombo        Bin Farid
Masid Gonsalu     Dodo Kurumali Banda   16 Disembar
Faisal Wisanu Budiwata (Erpor) Kaupèlan
Kuruwan Kisakurak Lirai Bangku
Bangku Tuamuhasin Tasimaki Sètejun
Teraurya Tana Keratun Uniwersiti
Palas S.Gabèryel Sentral Tana
Sentral Matris Market 8 Jun
Yalabasar Palas S. Fransisku Budiwata (Erpor)
Buwanamatan Hamon Riberaung Singapur
Nusunmai S.Fransisku
S.Lukas Makloi
Masar 14 Epril
Kotamakuwa (Erpor)